Pages Navigation Menu
Categories Navigation Menu

1900 8 Allied Nations Invasion of China (aka The Boxer Rebellion)

1900 8 Allied Nations Invasion of China (aka The Boxer Rebellion)

Who: United States, United Kingdom, Japan, Russia, France, Germany, Italy, Austria-Hungary

What: The 8 Allied nations plundered, looted, and raped. After the rebellion was suppressed, the Alliance forced China to pay reparations for the military “aide” that was provided.

Where: China

Why: The Boxers Rebellion was an uprising by members of the Chinese Society of Right and Harmonious Fists against foreign influence in areas such as trade, politics, religion and technology. The 8 Allied nations that occupied China did so as a means of plundering/stealing gold and natural resources while China was distracted with an internal uprising.

Note: German troops in particular were criticized for their enthusiasm in carrying out Kaiser Wilhelm II of Germany’s July 27 order: “Make the name German remembered in China for a thousand years so that no Chinaman will ever again dare to even squint at a German.”

Player: JP Morgan – Financed

3,018 total views, 3 views today

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Connect with Facebook